Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

Reality Cloud Studio User Administration and Authorization Concept

Overview of Authorization Concept

While working in Reality Cloud Studio you should be aware of the authorization concept implemented.

The access to folders and assets can be controlled on two levels. Level 1 the company account roles and level 2 the project roles.

  • Company Account → Roles: Admin, Maintainer, Employee

    • Project A → Roles: Owner, Editor, Collaborator, Viewer

      • Asset → Public shared link

      • Folder → No access control

        • Asset → Only accessible to the project roles

    • Project B → Roles: Owner, Editor, Collaborator, Viewer

      • Asset → Public shared link

      • Asset → Only accessible to the project roles

Company Account Roles:

Used to manage functionality and access to the company account.

Please not that this list below is just a summary and not conclusive. There are many more features that are related to the roles.

Feature

Admin

Maintainer

Employee

Collaborate within projects

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

Invite members to project

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

Create projects

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

Purchase content

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Edit billing and subscriptions

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Invite company account members

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Edit company account details

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Delete company account members

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Delete company account projects

SUPPORTED

Only if owner

Only if owner

Project access

SUPPORTED

Only to invited or created

Only to invited or created

Project Roles:

Used to manage functionality and access to a project. Besides adding user that are in your company account to a project, you can also invite external members (outside you company account) to it. The term ‘external member’ defines a person that is registered in RCS but not in your own company account. That means that this person has already credentials to log in and use the application.

The following roles with competences exists: Owner, Editor, Collaborator, Viewer

Please not that this list below is just a summary and not conclusive. There are many more features that are related to the roles.

Feature

Owner

Editor

Collaborator

Viewer

View project content

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

Create measurements and GeoTags

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Upload, download, delete assets

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Create and edit tours

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Change project roles

SUPPORTED

Can assign editor, collaborator and viewer roles

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Invite members to a project

SUPPORTED

Can invite editors, collaborators and viewers

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Remove project members

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Delete project

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

Consumes seat on the company account

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

SUPPORTED

NOT SUPPORTED

How to create a public shared link for an asset (view only)?

Anyone that has this shared link can access the asset and therefore generates traffic to your company account. There is no additional access control.

  1. Navigate to the asset you like to share.

  2. Click the three dots on the right next to the asset.

  3. Click Share.

  4. Activate General access.

  5. Copy and share link with the people you like via e-mail or any other way.

Public links are not available for Essential Tier accounts. They are available for Advanced and Professional Tier account holders.

How do I invite a person in my project to collaborate?

To invite a person to your project the person must be registered in RCS but not necessarily in your own company account. That means that this person has already credentials to log in and use the application. This person is considered as external member. External because it is not in your company account and member because it is a member of the platform.

  1. Open the project.

  2. Select Project members in the upper left of the page.

  3. Click Add member in the upper right corner.

  4. Enter email address(es) of the user(s).
    Note that the initial role set for external members is always viewer. This can be changed at a later.

  5. Click Add members.

If the user is not registered in any company account in HxDR an error message will appear letting you know that the e-mail address was not found.

How to add a person to my company account?

To be granted access to your company account the administrator or maintainer should follow these steps.

  1. Select the User Icon in the bottom left of the product.

  2. Select Users.

  3. Select Invite members at the top of the product.

  4. Enter the users' email address(es) and optionally edit the company account role and define a message to be sent with the invitation. Click Add.

  5. The list of user emails will populate below. You may now edit the user’s company account role.

  6. Click Send email invites.

  7. A confirmation that the invitation was sent will be displayed.

A user can only be invited once. Once an invitation has been sent it cannot be resent. If, upon following the above steps, you do not receive a notification, that user has been invited previously.

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.